The CSVN will award a prize of € 200,- to the programmer, present during the tournament, whose program performs best in the Open Dutch Computer-Chess Championship 2009 compared to its prior (best) rating.

1) Programmers are eligible for this prize if they are (co-)author of an engine participating in the Open Dutch Computer-Chess Championship 2008, and are present to operate it for the duration of the tournament.

2) The prize goes to the programmer whose program performs best compared to any prior programs or versions of the same program from this author.

3) To determine this, each participant eligible for the prize will be assigned a 'reference rating' before the start of the tournament.

4) The prize goes to the participant whose performance rating, as calculated by BayesElo (with standard settings) from the tournament results, exceeds this reference rating most.

5) The reference rating is determined on the basis of the WBEC, RWBC or CCRL rating lists, corrected for the speed of the (fastest) hardware used by the program during the tournament, as specified below.

6) The 'base rating' of a program will be based on its rating in the lists of WBEC, RWBC or CCRL and on prior appearances in the CSVN tournaments as they are published on the internet the night before the start of the tournament. The RWBC and CCRL list will first be scaled to make them directly comparable to the WBEC ratings, according to the following formulae: 
1.110 * RWBC - 228 
1.226 * CCRL - 638

7) For a version of a program appearing in more than one of the mentioned rating lists, the arithmetic average of the (scaled) ratings of every list it appears in will be used. The base rating will be rounded to the nearest integer.

8) If a participant does not have any Chess engine to his name that is listed in one of the rating lists or has ever participated in a CSVN tournament, he will be assigned a base rating of 1900.

9) The base rating will be corrected for the speed of the hardware used during the tournament to obtain the reference rating, according to the method described below. (In cases where hardware was switched, the most powerful hardware counts.)

10) Every factor 2 in clock speed will add 50 points to the reference rating. In formula:

reference rating = base rating + 50 * log_2(f_clock * N_cores) + CPU_type,

where f_clock is the effective clock frequency in GHz, N_cores the number of cores (as defined in (11)), CPU_type a CPU performance factor as defined in (12), and log_2(x) is the base-2 logarithm (log(x)/log(2)). The reference rating will be rounded to the nearest integer.

11) For engines using more than one core, N_core is the number of cores in the system. For engines not using parallelism N_core = 1.

12) Performance factors for some common CPU types are:

Netburst (Pentium IV, Pentium D, Celeron D) -43
K7 (Athlon XP, Sempron)
(Athlon 64, Athlon X2, Opteron, Turion 64) 0
Centrino (Celeron M, Pentium M, Core Solo, Core Duo)
(Core 2 Duo, Core 2 Quad) +16

For other CPUs the organizers will assign a performance factor on the spot, as they see fit.

13) In all cases not covered by these rules, the organizers will decide as they see fit

Copyright CSVN